Fosters, Austalian for homophobia?

21 01 2009

I like to get my Daily Show & Colbert Report on via da innanet every now and then because that’s how I do. They make you sit through some 5 second ads which, while I loathe watching commercials, I can generally handle. However, recently I’ve had to sit through Foster’s new premium ale ad campaign which is really trying my patience. Beer ads in general lob a brand of juvenile humor at you that I’m generally cool with. I don’t even find gratuitous hooter and bikini use offensive (within reason) since beer ads pretty much are what they are. But this one particular Foster’s ad, with its vague homophobic notions just strikes me as offensively nonsensical.

Unfortunately I can’t directly link you to this ad (I hate to make you work!), but if you’re interested, use this link & follow these directions: go to “discover Foster’s premium ale” > watch premium tips >the spa > observe proper locker room behavior

The guys in the locker room weld the other man’s locker shut apparently because he used the word “yummers” to describe a beer. Am I missing something? Aren’t they on the same page because they all like the same beer?  The premise seems to be that this one guy, due to a combo of bourgeois (note tennis racket, sweater) and gay (?) (pink shirt, “yummers”) behavior is not down with them even though they like the same shitty beer. I thought they’re all obsessed with this beer! Or wait, are they punishing him because he doesn’t observe the arbitrary crappy beer code of behavior? Notice the “bro” butt grab after they weld the dudes locker shut. And who keeps beer in the locker room?! Wouldn’t it get warm and gross? Is it an Australian thing? But wait, they’re American . . . I’m lost. In any case, it’s nonsensical and offensive if only in its stupidity.  that My plea to Fosters is ditch the homophobia and BRING BACK PAUL HOGAN!!! That man’s a national treasure.

Recently a Snickers ad featuring Mr. T was pulled in the UK after it was decided that it was homophobic.

It might be residual affection for B.A. Baracus left over from the A-Team days, but I’m inclined to think the Foster’s ad is much more offensive. I personally don’t see what’s wrong with power-walking besides the fact that it looks dorky, but gay? I’m not sold. I don’t find the walker to be especially gay. I can see people’s concern about the potential gay-bashing undertones brought about by the Snickers machine gun (wow) but that’s assuming the walker is gay. I think there’s a racial subtext here in the form of trying to keep the black man down while it’s cool for white guys to pal around and clown on whomever they want. Thoughts?

Actions

Information

6 responses

21 01 2009
Jonathan

Looks like Foster’s disabled that video.

21 01 2009
iammaya

I was actually still able to view the video by following the link, hitting the green can and going to the links I mentioned in the post. Perhaps it’s a computer issue?

26 01 2009
Mr. T: Pittying fools for 28 years but neither homophobic nor a gay-basher « ROM (Restaurant of the Month)

[…] T responds to the pulling off the air of the UK commercial he made for Snickers that I talk about here.  I find it touching how upset Mr. T is over the implication that he would participate in a […]

27 01 2009
Tom

I don’t understand why you’re upset? I don’t see any mention of gay on either of those adverts. It seems to me that you’ve inferred something that isn’t there at all.

28 01 2009
iammaya

Perhaps. But I’m more interested in why the Mr. T ad would be considered homophobic and not the Foster’s ad since they seem to make the same inferences about “unmanly” men.

9 02 2009
Clumpy

Man, I really didn’t understand that Foster’s ad until I heard the recap. I must’ve watched it a dozen times while watching The Daily Show and never made the connection to the obnoxious “Yummers” guy and the welding machine.

I don’t think it’s a gay joke though – the guy seems more like a privileged, square upperclassman than a stereotypical gay.

Leave a Reply

