Ladies & Gentlemen, meet Rev. Joseph Lowery

21 01 2009

In keeping in the spirit of recent events here in these good ole United States, I thought I’d introduce you to someone I became acquainted with via the Barack Obama 2009 Presidential Inauguration: Rev. Joseph Lowery.

I watched from a local pub with some fellow Americans as we ushered in a new president and hopefully a  brighter era. However, aside from our new president’s inaugural address, mine eyes began to glaze over a bit. And since I’d felt I’d met my limit of religulousness for the day had been met after Rick Warren’s Purpose Drive Speech, I was not overly excited by the prospect of yet another religious leader. I was not familiar with Rev. Lowery’s civil rights work nor his rhetorical style. But man, did he hit it out of the park with the closing lines of his speech:

Telling it as it is

Telling it like it is

“Lord, in the memory of all the saints who from their labors rest, and in the joy of a new beginning, we ask you to help us work for that day when black will not be asked to get back, when brown can stick around, when yellow will be mellow, when the red man can get ahead man and when white will embrace what is right.”

A Fox News pundit called the speech racist (shocking, I know). I call it hilarious. My personal favorite line is “when the red man can get ahead man” but that’s just me. I’m pleased that Rev. Lowery brought his old school brand of straight talk along to the White House. We’ve become so politically correct that nothing means what it sounds like and you have to sift through layers of BS to get to the real meaning. For example, where did we get “ethnic cleansing” from “genocide?” It sounds like a brand of laundry detergent in use in el barrio. It’s ridiculous. And no one dances around race rhetorically quite like we Americans do.

In any case, I would like to extend a hearty ‘thank you’ to Rev. Lowery for keeping it real. In fact, I’d like to present him with the “keeping it real” award that I just invented. There you have it. Reverend Lowery, you earned it!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

